All about using the much revered menstrual cup – a post tailored for India

Fancy saving the world? Worried about news articles like this or this? Frantically looking around for methods which will help keep the earth green and less toxic? Found the magic product – the menstrual cup – tried, failed, retried successfully but now get a headache every time it is required? Well, you are not alone.

The first time I found about it, and ordered it and received it, well, this is a story in itself. So, let me tell you how I managed about it. Psst! Don’t go around trying to buy Diva Cup from India. Or from anywhere. There aren’t exactly very great reviews about it even internationally, I found this by the amount of information I voraciously swallowed from blogs, write-ups, YouTube videos and what not. So, Diva Cup is just a well-marketed product. The first cup I found about was Diva as well, and it is the same for almost all the girls I have discussed cups with. So, I tried to find it on Amazon.in . One seller sells it, in a pack of four though. And I was apprehensive about buying even two together because it is not something like one size fits all. And the pieces are not exactly cheap. Also, there is a lot much information about low cervix, high cervix and the tailored products available for all the conditions, needless to say, none available in India. So, eventually, I came upon this site. And it is a saviour. Although there is nothing like feeling shy for buying a menstrual cup – more and more girls should try and make their surroundings comfortable about it. I don’t, by any means, intend to negate the negative experiences girls have about buying sanitary products online. But, whenever I have been out to buy a sanitary product, I have asked for it upfront and then, the shopkeeper probably feels too weird to be awkward about it and hence, acts cool. Which is my luck, because I have not had a bad experience. So, I hope more and more girls try to open up if their surroundings is not too intimidating.

Anyways, coming to the point. So, I bought this product from ShyCart (no endorsements, no promotions. Plain personal experience). The delivery was smooth. I received the product, was happy with myself and then, after some time, my periods actually started. So, using this thing is a bit tricky. You read a lot of stuff, make a list, think of trying it all one by one – the ways of insertion, the folds for the cup, the position you are in. And it is true, one way doesn’t suit everyone. And it takes a lot of practice. It took two cycles for me. At this point, let me suggest you one thing. If you are still on pads, switch to tampons for some time first. Even twice or thrice is cool. They will acquaint you and make you comfortable about trying cups – taking one step at a time.

So, once you are ready and mentally prepared to Just Do It, lie down. No, literally. Don’t try hovering over the toilet seat and shit like that. Lie down anywhere. In the bath area, fuck it, I lie on the bed. Clean yourself up, spread a towel and lie on the bed and crouch. Best way to proceed. Moving on to the next hurdle, the fold. Try this:

keeper-71

<image credits to this.>

Best fold ever. And the only one that works, trust me. Works for more women that any other. Now, the cup might slant while inserting. Don’t try to correct it right away. Try upon half-insertion. Correct it, push and do some kegel muscle exercises. Just three-four suck-ins would do. The cup will fit at the right place, all vacuum. There is not way for the cup to be unopened, leaky or anything of that sort post this. I have tried it all, rotating the cup as advised – doesn’t work. I have been conscious several times I feel a leak – false alarm. Just, take a deep breath.

Which brings us to the last step – removing it. In that domain, we are at a far better place in India than women in multitudes of countries. We have bidet – say thanks to it. Squat at the toilet seat, get hold of the cup base – it is hide and seek at times it rides too high, but not undoable. Get a hold of the base and squeeze the base. This is the best way and is better than inserting finger all the way up and detaching the build vacuum. Pinch the base and shake it – left and right. And pull slightly. When it is almost the tip – go in and twist it inwards in a punch-down fold. Empty the contents, don’t look down, flush and open the bidet to clean the cup. Thereafter, re-clean with soap if the place permits. Now, reinserting might be tricky if you are at a public washroom. So, for some time, try it when you are home before you graduate to another level. Keep trying. And tell yourself it is good for the earth we live in and for the future we want to see.

 

And last, but not the least, I had my times when I started hating my periods because of the shit I need to do. But everytime I thought of using the pad and the mess I was in for the entire day – not to mention the drought pads and tampons leave me in with all the soaking up – I think of the one time efforts, draw my windows shut, put up a good song and do the boring 30 secs task of insertion and I am happy the three days, because the laziness kicks me in only the first day. Once you cross that, you are rolling, mate! 😀 *Hi-five*

 

P.S.: Please feel free to leave questions, if any. I would answer them to my best. And make the switch. Let’s give ourselves mess-less, drought-less, guilt-less days of periods.

One thought on “All about using the much revered menstrual cup – a post tailored for India

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

